22.09.2022

New report from the Club of Rome

50 years after its spectacularly received study “The Limits to Growth”, the Club of Rome once again draws attention to climate change and its worldwide consequences with a publication: To avert a global deterioration in quality of life, the authors of the publication call for change in thinking in five areas: These include food habits and energy transition, as well as social issues, namely poverty reduction, education and equal rights for women.

In fact, climate change poses the greatest risk to social groups already facing marginalization and inequity of opportunity: According to an estimate by the Malala Fund, the exacerbated economic conditions that climate change means for developing countries could cost up to 12.5 million girls and young women worldwide on their educational attainment.

This is not only a human rights violation under Article 26 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. This discrimination is also part of a vicious cycle of climate change: as Ugandan women’s rights and climate activist Vanessa Nakate pointed out in a guest editorial in The Economist, access to education for women is key in the fight against the climate crisis. Education is not only a prerequisite for a self-determined life and conscious, autonomous family planning. Education is also the basis for jobs in an increasingly regenerative economy.

Advocating for a fair and equitable society is therefore also relevant to climate policy.

View the full report

Ähnliche Beiträge

2022-11-03T16:06:28+00:00

22.09.2022

Neuer Bericht des Club of Rome

50 Jahre nach seiner spektakulär rezipierten Studie „Die Grenzen des Wachstums“ macht der The Club of Rome abermals mit einer Publikation auf den Klimawandel und seine weltweiten Folgen aufmerksam: Um eine globale Verschlechterung der Lebensqualität abzuwenden, fordern die Autoren der Veröffentlichung ein Umdenken in fünf Bereichen: Hierzu gehören neben Ernährungsgewohnheiten und Energiewende auch gesellschaftliche Fragen, nämlich Armutsbekämpfung, Bildung und Gleichberechtigung für Frauen.

Tatsächlich stellt der Klimawandel für soziale Gruppen, die bereits jetzt Marginalisierung und Chancenungerechtigkeit ausgesetzt sind, das größte Risiko dar: Einer Schätzung des Malala Fund zufolge könnten die verschärften wirtschaftlichen Bedingungen, die der Klimawandel für Entwicklungsländer bedeutet, bis zu 12,5 Millionen Mädchen und junge Frauen weltweit ihren Bildungsabschluss kosten.

Dies ist nicht nur eine Menschenrechtsverletzung nach Artikel 26 der allgemeinen Erklärung der Menschenrechte. Diese Diskrimination ist außerdem Bestandteil eines Teufelskreises des Klimawandels: Wie die ugandische Frauenrechts- und Klimaaktivistin Vanessa Nakate in einem Gastbeitrag in The Economist darlegte, ist Zugang zu Bildung für Frauen ein Schlüssel im Kampf gegen die Klimakrise. Denn nicht nur stelle Bildung eine Voraussetzung für ein selbstbestimmtes Leben und bewusste, autonome Familienplanung dar. Bildung sei außerdem die Grundlage für Jobs in einer immer mehr regenerativen Wirtschaft.

Das Eintreten für eine faire und chancengerechte Gesellschaft ist also auch von klimapolitischer Relevanz.

Zum Bericht

Ähnliche Beiträge

2022-11-03T09:41:26+00:00